EN EN

## Annex 16

Third countries whose nationals or specific categories of such third country nationals who are subject to prior consultation 1

Under Article 22 of the Visa Code, a Member State may require the central authorities of other Member States to consult its central authorities during the examination of visa applications lodged by nationals of specific third countries or specific categories of such nationals.

Such consultation does not apply to applications for airport transit visas.

The table below lists the third countries and the specific categories concerned. When a third country is listed it means that at least one Member State requires such prior consultation.

ΕN

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Version 15.11.2010

Third countries	Specific categories concerned, if applicable
Afghanistan	
Bangladesh	
Belarus	
D.R. Congo	
Egypt	Does not apply to holders of diplomatic and service passports.
Indonesia	
Iran	
Iraq	
Jordan	
Kazakhstan	Applies only to holders of service passports.
(North) Korea	
Lebanon	
Libya	
Mauritania	
Nigeria	
Pakistan	
Philippines	Does not apply to holders of diplomatic or service passports and does not apply to seafarers when they are pursuing their occupation, entering or staying in the Schengen area as a direct consequence of their occupation.
Russian Federation	Applies only to holders of service passports.
Rwanda	
Saudi Arabia	
Somalia	
Sudan	
Syria	
Uzbekistan	Does not apply to persons who work as soldiers or police-men who travels for the purpose of an official visit or business
Vietnam	
Yemen	

Category of persons	
Palestinians	
Refugees	
Stateless Persons	